A renaissance gal passionista and her amazing family.

Of course there are good people who are also theists.

Of course there are bad people who are also theists.

Of course there are bad people who use religion to get other people who are theists to do bad things.

There is a mis-defined word out there. You know it, I know it… we all know it.

Christian.

This word is not synonymous with good. Christian does not equal Good.

Got it.

When a person is describing the character of person to get me to like them, or allow them to watch my children, or get me to patronize their business, using the word Christian, doesn’t mean anything to me in regards to whether or not they are good people.

I repeat:

Christian does not equal Good.

Need evidence? I thought you might. Even though you don’t need any for the existence of a supernatural deity you certainly do require evidence and factual information to back up everything else. Weird.

Here is some lovely new evidence to feast your eyes on. Last week, author Christopher Hitchens died of esophageal cancer at the age of 62. Atheists on Twitter decided to use the hash tag “#GodIsNotGreat” to express their grief and sorrow. The tag comes from the title of the book Hitchens is most known for authoring, God Is Not Great: How Religion Poisons Everything. Many Christians failed to realize this and instead tweeted death threats to atheists. More here too!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Don’t let me down now… I expect the usual comebacks, such as:

“Obviously, those aren’t TRUE Christians!”

“Well, that atheist, Hitchens, was name-calling first!”

“Since the news didn’t cover it, this is probably all made up. Did you find this on The Onion?”

I’ve heard all of these. So many contradictions, so little time for giggling. With all of the time they spend spreading only love, it is surprising to me how much time they have left over to judge others… even their own. Again, weird.

During this joyful holiday time, remember:

Don’t piss off the peaceful people who are celebrating the birth of their mythological savior or they might cut a bitch.

Merry Christmas, Bitches!

***

The Reason Of The Season is a new series that will take place from December 1 – December 25. I, like many non-theists and non-Christians, love the holiday season. I love taking the this chilly time of year to remind the people I love how much I love and adore them, to help and give to those less fortunate, and feel the innocent hope of when I was a child. This series is an effort to educate many on tradition and history as well as an opportunity to share why I love this time of year and the traditions we use and have created in our family.

***

 

Comments on: "More Xtian Love – The Reason Of The Season: Day 20" (1)

  1. I’m more nervous if somebody tries to assure me of their morality by their religious belief..it makes me wonder A. Why do they feel the need to assure me in the first place B. they plan to try to convert me. I’d rather see a background check, a degree..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 977 other followers

