A renaissance gal passionista and her amazing family.

I’m Coming Out

I’m Coming Out… I Want The World to Know


Well…. technically I’m already out, I suppose. Most people know my philosophy and I’ve taken tiny steps in using social media to do so.

But, possibly I need this for me. For a long time I was wishy-washy, too timid, too fearful to make an assertion that would make others uncomfortable – even knowing that is was their lack of knowledge that was the true issue and not my atheism.

So, yes, I’m an atheist. And a secular humanist, a freethinker, a mom, a wife, a sister, a daughter, a co-parent, a home-owner, a dog-owner, a blonde, a right-hander, an actor, a writer, and so many more things.

Of course we are all many things.

Do you think because I’m an atheist I eat babies, worship the devil (who, by the way, doesn’t exist), or hate morals?

If you answered yes – then you are wrong and you must educate yourself.

If you answered no – then *ding ding ding* you are right! Your prize – knowing that you are one step closer to tolerance 🙂

Why come out?

  1.  Lying about it is an emotionally draining and lying is bad.
  2. To find friends who share my interests, values, and beliefs.
  3. To promote tolerance, equality, and help crush the stereotype.
  4. To let others know they are not alone.
  5. Being true to myself is the best role model I can be for my kiddos.

It’s been a long road to this place where I publicly declare what I believe and what I don’t believe, my values, and my opinion. I have educated myself over many years and finally shed the guilt piled on by my indoctrination.

This year we begin homeschooling. An exciting time sure to filled with challenges. I want to show my kiddos that being honest with yourself, educating yourself, and forming your own opinion is so important – as an individual and for the greater good of our species. It starts with me being honest.

Coming out isn’t the end or beginning. It’s a clarification, more for myself, that I have ideas and opinions to share and add to society – to the world.

Just because it isn’t the norm doesn’t mean I’m wrong.

Comments on: "I’m Coming Out" (14)

  1. excogitatingengineer said:

    It is good to be intellectually honest. I like that. I’m wondering what exactly you mean by humanist?

  2. Always great to find someone else batting for the team of reason. Love your blog!

  3. Hi there, I just found your blog on Secular Thursdays over on the Smrt Lrnins blog. I’m very glad that you’re now “out”. When I first started my Rebel Homeschool blog not too long ago, I was really nervous that people would hate me. But so many people have been friendly and supportive! It gives me courage to face any trolls.

    • Yes, trolls. I still question being out sometimes – some of my posts or stories I post on FB. But I remind myself that if I’m rational and honest, I’m doing no harm – in fact I’m doing myself a great service and hopefully showing others they aren’t alone. Thanks for stopping by! Keep on keeping on 🙂

  4. excogitatingengineer said:

    You say you have faith in science and humans. I thought secular humanism explicity denied faith but based their opinions solely on science and reason?

    • My use of “faith” here isn’t so much a belief in something that might be imaginary as it is an understanding that demonstrable events and facts are trustworthy.

      • excogitatingengineer said:

        So is my understanding of humanism correct when I say that humanists believe that truth includes only things that can be proven scientifically?

  5. @Excogitatingengineer – First, a clarification. Science doesn’t Prove things. Science assigns probabilities to ideas. Evolution is highly probable on Geology, Genetics and a dozen other disciplines. Not-Evolution does not currently rise so much as even a possibility.

    Anyway, humanists think that ethics and morality are human constructs and that we can do a decent job constructing and revising them as we learn new things.

    We tend not to be dogmatic. And faith typically does not enter the picture will regard to our practices.

    h/t to Friendly Atheist for the link here.

  6. Be sure to share your coming out story in this new book: http://pixelstampede.wordpress.com/a-time-to-come-out/

    Deadline for submissions is 30NOV2011

  7. Wow, you are so much braver than me! I am out to most people I actually know personally – I never held back in that respect – but I’m soooo scared it will hurt my business (not that there is much to hurt, but you know…) if I actually post something like that on my blog.

    Maybe it’s time…

    Vee

    • For a long time I worried about it hurting my job or my local theatre gigs. As far as I can tell, no major repercussions. But I totally understand where you are coming from in that regard. I was fed up with the lies, the fear tactics, the “we’ll pray for you” looks (which I still get, but now I don’t have to say “thank you” with my look).

      But I, or anyone else, can’t tell you when it’s time to come out to the general public. It’s tough. When you are comfortable/fed up/exasperated… you’ll know when the time is right for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

